PhD Student Selected as 2020 Paul Ambrose Scholar

Daryl Traylor


Daryl Traylor, a PhD student at University of Missouri’s Sinclair School of Nursing, has been selected as a cohort member of the 2020 Paul Ambrose Scholars Program. Each year, 35 health professional applicants are selected from accredited institutions to plan and implement a public health community-based project based on the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Healthy People 2020 Leading Health Indicators. 

Traylor, MS, MPH, CHES, whose research interest lies in HIV-prevention and education, views the Ambrose Scholar Program as a way to utilize his professional graduate skills. For his community-based project, he plans to work with African American beauty salons to pilot an HIV prevention and intervention session for women ages 18 and older. Traylor’s pilot project will educate women on HIV testing options, basic contraceptive practices, communicating with intimate partners, and peer relationships. Previous research has shown this intervention works for men in barber shop settings so Traylor hopes to see success in a beauty salon setting.

“The Ambrose Scholar program will have a direct impact on the health of my community, which is a powerful motivator for me,” Traylor said. “It also provides the chance to practice what I’ve learned as a nursing PhD student.”

Traylor credits his faculty mentors, staff and colleagues for supporting his goal and increasing his confidence. During his graduate studies, Traylor feels the SSON has increased his speaking and presentation skills, giving him a higher level of self-assurance about his research interests.

Dr. Tina Bloom had a huge influence in shaping how I think about the social determinants of health and what I learned in her class will become a part of the community project that I am implementing during my year as an Ambrose Scholar,” Traylor said. “I also had enthusiastic backing from Dr. Maithe Enriquez when I considered applying for the program.”

CTA: Learn more about the doctoral program in nursing at the Sinclair School of Nursing.