Students and Staff Honored at Tap Day

Six members of the Sinclair School of Nursing family were inducted into the University of Missouri secret honorary societies. At the 90th annual Tap Day ceremony in Jesse Auditorium Friday, April 14, 2017, students and staff were inducted into honor societies including Mortar Board, Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) and Rollins Society.

Three undergraduate students were inducted into societies.

Mary Grace Kelly, a fifth semester BSN student, was inducted into Mortar Board. Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognized college seniors for their achievements in scholarship, leadership and service. Gabrielle Vest, a sixth semester BSN students, and Alyssa Goldberg, an eighth semester BSN students were both inducted into ODK. Members of ODK are juniors and seniors, graduate students, and faculty and staff who demonstrate leadership achievements in one of five phases of campus life: scholarship; athletics; campus or community service; social and religious activities; and campus government; journalism, speech and mass media; or creative and performing arts.

Tipperat “Rose” Udmuangpia, a second year PhD student, was inducted into Rollins Society. The Rollins Society was established by the Graduate Professional Council in 1994 and recognizes graduate and professional students who have significantly advanced the well-being of self-defined communities beyond the scope of their academic work.

Faculty and staff were also included among the honorees. Tina Bloom, PhD, MPH, RN, Associate Professor of Nursing, was inducted into Rollins Society. Laura Anderson, senior academic advisor, was inducted as an honorary member of Mortar Board.

These students and staff members are exemplar examples of the excellence
pursued at the Sinclair School of Nursing, and we are so proud of them!