Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

2012 Award Recipients Announced at Annual Banquet

2012 Alumni Award Recipients

NAO 2012 award recipients: Marilyn Thomas – Humanitarian Award, Sherry Snell Forsee – Honorary Alumna, Sue Ann Vest Wright – Alumna of the Year, Joannie Welsh Ericson – Alumni Achievement, and Susan Scott – Citation of Merit.

May 3, 2012

Columbia, Mo. — The MU Sinclair School of Nursing (MUSSON) celebrated the accomplishments of its alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends during the 22nd Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony April 27 at the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Columbia with about 280 people in attendance. Dean Judith Fitzgerald Miller, PhD, RN, FAAN, and Nursing Alumni Organization (NAO) President Terry Jackson, BSN ’78, presented the school and NAO alumni awards.

“This annual event gives the school and the Nursing Alumni Organization the opportunity to recognize outstanding individuals who have elevated the reputation, research, teaching and service of the Sinclair School of Nursing,” Miller said.

The school’s highest honor, the Distinguished Friend of the School, was awarded to Eileen Meehan Dyer, BSN ’68, for her support over many years to the school and the profession of nursing. Dyer, RN, and her late husband, Gary, a graduate of MU’s School of Medicine, ran a private dermatology practice in St. Joseph, Mo.

The Nursing Alumni Organization presented five awards recognizing the achievements of alumni and friends of the school:

Susan Donnell Scott, BSN ’88, MS(N) ’94 – Citation of Merit. Scott, RN, is patient safety manager in the Office of Clinical Effectiveness for University of Missouri Health Care.

Sue Ann Vest Wright, BSN ’78 – Alumna of the Year Award. Wright, RN, served as clinical coordinator for 5 years at the Flint Hills Community Clinic, the only free health clinic in Manhattan, Kan.

Joannie Welsh Ericson, BSN ’08 – Alumni Achievement Award. Ericson, RN, used her burn care knowledge and experience in the San Francisco hospital where she worked after the 2010 gas line explosion in San Bruno, Calif.

Marilyn Craigmiles Thomas, BSN ’66 – Humanitarian Award. Thomas founded and continues as executive director of the Kansas City House of Hope, a Christian residential treatment home for troubled teenage girls.

Sherry Snell Forsee – Honorary Alumna Award. Long before her husband, Gary, became president of the University of Missouri System in 2008, Forsee sought to help the aging population in Missouri through the Vivian Snell Fund honoring her late mother. The fund helped create educational seminars and workshops for long-term care workers.

The school also announced the first Dr. Rosemary T. Porter Faculty Scholar, Sherri Ulbrich, assistant teaching professor of nursing. Dean Emerita Rose Porter served as MUSSON dean for 9 years and gave 31 years of service to the university.

The school also presented staff, faculty and student awards during the annual banquet. Recipients of the staff and faculty awards were:

Gayle Epple – Staff Award for Overall Excellence

Val Bader – Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Jane Armer – Faculty Award for Excellence in Research

Gretchen Gregory – Betty Crim Faculty Enhancement Award

Recipients of the student awards for overall excellence were:

Ruth Rowden – RN-BSN Award

Kelli Meyer – Accelerated BSN Award

Emily Miller – Seventh Semester Award

Cassie Johanningmeier – Eighth Semester Award

Angela Igo – Master’s Award

Lisa Boggs – Doctor of Nursing Practice Award

Jo-Ana Chase – Doctor of Philosophy Award