PhD Program Graduate Wins National Dissertation Award

Feb. 4, 2016

On January 21st 2016, Dr. Jennifer Dine, a December 2015 PhD graduate of the MU Sinclair School of Nursing, received the Excellence in Advancing Nursing Science Award at the 2016 American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Doctoral Education Conference in Naples, FL. This national-level award is granted by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) to one student in a PhD in Nursing or DNS program for an outstanding dissertation that has the potential to advance science, education, practice and/or policy; demonstrates scholarly rigor and shows promise and originality; contributes knowledge to the profession; adds to the scientific base for nursing practice, advances understanding of a critical nursing issue and demonstrates methodological sophistication; and exemplifies innovation and leadership in nursing education, research and practice.

Jennifer’s research was supported by a pre-doctoral fellowship in the NIH Graduate Partnerships Program. After completing her coursework and successfully passing her comprehensive examination on the Mizzou campus, she completed her breast cancer research in the laboratory of Dr. Stan Lipkowitz at Women’s Malignancies Branch, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute (NCI). Her award-winning dissertation research is entitled “Characterization of a Novel Regulator and Predictors of Sensitivity to TRAIL-induced Apoptosis in Breast Cancer Cells.”

Congratulations to Jennifer on receiving this prestigious award!

PhD Student Wins Dean’s Award for Poster Presentation

Nov. 12, 2015

Jennifer O’Connor, second year MU SSON PhD student, received the Sinclair School of Nursing Dean’s Award for her research poster “Leisure Time Physical Inactivity, Obesity, and Diabetes Rates in the Southern United States” at the University of Missouri’s Health Sciences Research Day on Thursday, November 12th, 2015. Jennifer’s research mentor is Deidre Wipke-Tevis PhD, RN.

Each year, students from the MU School of Medicine, MU School of Health Professions, and the MU Sinclair School of Nursing take part in the University of Missouri Health Sciences Research Day poster competition.  Each Dean can select one student from their school to receive the Dean’s Award.

You can see all of the winners from the 2015 Health Sciences Research Day here.